If you have identified a set of duplicate People or Organisations, but both have some useful information on, then you can Merge the records. This preserves the information by copying it into the surviving Organisation or Person before the duplicated record is deleted. This action cannot be undone, so please use with caution.
When you find a record that you want to merge, click on the Merge button.
The Merge dialogue will ask you to search for the record you'd like to merge it with, and which you'd like to keep.
Once you've found the right one, you'll need to confirm that you're happy for the records to be merged and one of the records to be permanently deleted.
All the activities will get moved from the duplicate to the surviving record. The logs from the duplicate record will be shown in pale grey on the surviving record. There will also be a log entry for the Merge.
Don't worry about losing any incomplete Tasks; these will be moved from the duplicate on to the surviving record.